Canal walk.

I decided to enter a competition. It was a challenge to write about a favourite walk in under ‘so many’ words. Of course it didn’t get far, but I enjoyed the process. It was a reason to write something different.

I wrote this as I considered my favourite local walk – along the Monmouthshire and Brecon canal. Sloe, Midge, Lady Serenity and Spring-time are the names of some of the boats moored there.

Spring-time, Autumn-daze, Summer-eve, moored.
Heron lifts, up from the canal edge, only to settle
along the bank, close enough to see the vivid eyeliner pattern,
of the plumage on his head.
With a slight dip of leg and body, up, lifts again, repeating the pattern a few times as
we meander along.
Young, this one, still neat and tidy of feather, a smooth silhotte.
Finally, it is resigned as we continue to meander onwards.
Lifts once more, wings wide and arched, low over the still, water.
Away and up, ethereal, to the tree top.
Sloe, Midge, Lady Serenity, moored.

We are in a fire-break lockdown in Wales and I am missing my walks along the canal…I look forward to going back, the leaves will be a mush by then, wellies will be needed…mud everywhere – but it will be GOOD!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started